Under the Sea

No mermaids in these!  Just a few jellyfish and other sea creatures, compliments of my fifth and sixth graders (or six of them).

underwaterblog

It was one of those projects that kept me on my toes.  For one, they’re on cardboard because matte board and canvases were not in the budget.  The cardboard needed to painted with matte spray paint (trust me, I tried other methods).  We discussed tints and shades to create the light ring in the water and used acrylic paints (not tempera, again trust me on this one).  We used acrylics for the ocean floor as well.  The jellyfish were created with oil pastels.  The kids really liked working with them to get the transparent feel and even went so far as to add highlights and shadows.

Leave a Reply

