Color Wheel, take 1

I saw this project online one day and took a screen shot with my phone.  If you know the source please let me know so I can give credit!

This is the work in progress shot.  My fifth and sixth graders are studying the color wheel.  I reference it a million times when teaching so why not?  I basically gave them the primary colors and had them mix everything in between.  If you can’t tell, they first sketched an eyeball.  They thought that was a little odd at first.  I had them section off the colored portion of the eye (iris) and then mark in pencil the colors they need to mix (in the proper order).

While they were working I kept hearing “it’s like magic,” “this is so cool,” “I’m never buying colors again!”  I think they enjoyed this one.

IMG_4427

Leave a Reply

